Skip to the content

Melbourne String Ensemble

MSE, directed by Fintan Murphy, offers students an unparalleled opportunity to perform high quality repertoire with some of Melbourne’s most talented young string musicians. The students develop ensemble, chamber and advanced musicianship skills and regularly take part in masterclasses with some of Australia’s most accomplished professional musicians.


The expected entry standard is as follows:

  • Violin: AMEB Grade 8 plus
  • Cello/Viola : AMEB Grade 7 plus

Recent concerts featured some of the following repertoire:

Arnold Schoenberg – Verklarte Nacht, Op.4. for string orchestra (1917)
Carl Vine – Smith’s Alchemy
Felix Mendelssohn - Violin concerto in E minor
Peter Schulthorpe - String quartet no.16 , arr for string orchestra and didjeridu
Samuel Barber – Adagio for Strings
Niccolo Paganini – Variations on one string on a theme of Rossini arr for cello and string orchestra
Max Bruch – Octet in Bb major

MSE Key Dates

DAY DATE TIME EVENT VENUE
Sat 9-Feb 3pm-5:30pm Rehearsal Burke Hall
Sat 16-Feb 2pm-5:30pm AGM & Rehearsal Burke Hall
Sat 23-Feb 3pm-5:30pm Rehearsal Burke Hall
Sat 2-Mar 3pm-5:30pm Rehearsal Burke Hall
Sat 9-Mar TBA Annual Camp Edmund Rice Centre
Sun 10-Mar TBA Annual Camp & Masterclass Edmund Rice Centre
Mon 11-Mar TBA Annual Camp & Alumni Event Edmund Rice Centre
Sat 16-Mar 3pm-5:30pm Rehearsal Burke Hall
Sat 23-Mar 3pm-5:30pm Rehearsal Burke Hall
Sat  30-Mar 3pm-5:30pm Rehearsal Burke Hall
Sat 27-Apr 3pm-5:30pm Rehearsal Burke Hall
Sat 4-May 3pm-5:30pm Rehearsal Burke Hall
Mon 6-May 7pm-10pm Extra Rehearsal  Burke Hall
Thurs 9-May 7pm-10pm Extra Rehearsal  Abbotsford Convent Rosina Auditorium
Sat 11-May 4pm-10pm Pre-concert Rehearsal & Concert Abbotsford Convent Rosina Auditorium
DAY DATE TIME EVENT VENUE
Sat 1-Jun 3pm-5:30pm Rehearsal  Burke Hall
Sat 8-Jun 3pm-5:30pm Rehearsal Burke Hall
Sat 15-Jun 3pm-5:30pm Masterclass Burke Hall
Sat 22-Jun 3pm-5:30pm Rehearsal Burke Hall
Sat 13-Jul 9am-4pm Extra rehearsal Burke Hall
Sat 14-Jul 9am-4pm Extra rehearsal Burke Hall
Sat 20-Jul 3pm-5:30pm Rehearsal Burke Hall
Sat 27-Jul 3pm-5:30pm Rehearsal Burke Hall
Mon 29-Jul 7pm-9pm Extra rehearsal Burke Hall
Thurs 1-Aug 7pm-9pm Extra rehearsal Burke Hall
Sat 3-Aug 4pm-9:30pm Pre-concert Rehearsal & Benchmark Concert 8pm

Iwaki Auditorium

120-130 Southbank Blvd, Southbank VIC 3006

DAY DATE TIME EVENT VENUE
Sat 7-Sep 3pm-5:30pm  Rehearsal Burke Hall
Thur 12-Sep 5pm-8pm Masterclass Burke Hall
Sat 14-Sep 3pm-5:30pm* Rehearsal Burke Hall
Sat 12-Oct 3pm-5:30pm* Rehearsal Burke Hall
Sat 19-Oct 3pm-5:30pm* Rehearsal Burke Hall
Sat 26-Oct 3pm-5:30pm* Rehearsal Burke Hall
Sat 9-Nov 3pm-5:30pm* Rehearsal Burke Hall
Sat 16-Nov 3pm-5:30pm* Rehearsal Burke Hall
Sat 23-Nov 3pm-5:30pm* Rehearsal Burke Hall
Sat 30-Nov TBA Pre-concert Rehearsal & Concerto Concert Northcote Uniting Church

* Note: Rehearsals may start 2pm if required

Application for auditions are now open

MSE Auditions

To apply to audition for MSE please provide the following information

The 'First name' field is required
The 'Last name' field is required
Please enter a valid Email address

Melbourne String Ensemble Fees

The Melbourne String Ensemble is a not for profit organization that is run via a committee of management. Fees cover the cost of our rehearsal and concert programme, participation in various masterclasses and the annual music camp at Amberley Centre, Lower Plenty.

Our current fee structure is as follows:

MSE per semester

$600.00

2019 Masterclasses - now accepting applications

The MSE 2019 masterclass is now accepting applications